What is pre-authorised payment?
During an order or a reservation in the Bonjour RATP application, the payment system requests a temporary payment authorization, called pre-authorization, from your bank, the amount of which may vary depending on the chosen mode of transport:
The pre-authorization is used to ensure that you have sufficient funds on your payment method to pay for your ride. This has nothing to do with the amount of the ride that you will pay in the end.
The pre-authorization process may require a 3D secure verification (this is a cardholder authentication procedure to ensure that it is indeed the cardholder who is making the online payment).
Immediately after the end of your ride and after our system has received the actual amount due, it sends a request to cancel the pre-authorization to your bank. However, your bank may take longer to reflect this cancellation. Bonjour RATP unfortunately has no influence on this update delay.
Also, during the time between the cancellation of the pre-authorization in our system and its effective cancellation by your bank, this pre-authorization may appear on your bank statement as a "Pending" or "Processing" line with the amount of the pre-authorization.
When the pre-authorization is finally canceled by your bank, since it is not actual charges, you may not see a line corresponding to a refund of this pre-authorization on your account, but rather an adjustment of your available balance or the removal of the corresponding line.
The important thing to remember is that you are only charged the actual amount of your ride.
If you have any questions, we encourage you to inquire with your bank to learn about its pre-authorization hold policy.